Too Close For Comfort

I have Diabetes type II. Last night was pretty scary, now that I got a chance to think about it today. I must have over bolused myself. That is when you give yourself insulin, based on the amount of carbs you’re ingesting. I had went to sleep, and awoke to use the bathroom. I was extremely tired and unsteady. I felt clammy, and was going to turn on my other fan, I have two, one is always on. One condition I have is just always being overheated. Summer sucks sometimes, especially when the dew point is tropical!

I was so weak, I didn’t walk to the other fan, I went to my bed, and immediately grabbed my blood glucose meter. The number that came up was 50. That is a dangerously low number, one that will lead to seizures and unconsciousness. Also, glucose feeds your brain, so when your numbers are that low, you can’t think. I’m surprised I was even able to check my blood level.

I yelled to my husband. When you’re like this, it is hard to even have the energy to muster up to yell. He came to my room, and all I said is ‘My blood sugar is 50.’ I always have candy in my drawer, and he grabbed a valentines day box of chocolates I had not opened. He opened it, and held it there as I started eating chocolates. He told me to start with 3, I ate six, and kept falling asleep I thought. I was actually going in and out of consciousness.

When you are in a position of hyperglycemia, or low blood glucose, when you get sugar, you go to town. A nonstop ravenous rage. I wasn’t in a rage, because I could barely sit up, but when my husband asked how many candies I ate, I had eaten all but one. That’s not good either, because too high blood glucose can put you in a coma. All I knew is that I had enough sugar and I would not die. You really should go to the hospital, but I hate hospitals! I turned over, and went to sleep. My body was so drained. My husband knew I was okay, because he stated that I was snoring so loud, he knew I was just crashed.

This morning I woke up fine and took my blood glucose. It was 151, which is a little high, but I was shocked it wasn’t higher from eating a whole box of chocolate. Yeah, I ate that last piece in the middle of the night, when I awoke again to relieve myself. Just thinking this morning was really scary to me. What if I didn’t wake up to use the bathroom? Would anybody have known I was in seizures? Would I be alive right now to write this blog?

Live everyday like a precious gift. God wasn’t ready for me yet! I thank him! But you just never know what lies ahead. Enjoy what you can everyday, you might not be here tomorrow!

25 Clever Illustrations Visual Street Art

Some very cute art to see at the link below. Enjoy! No scary stuff here, or at least not horrific!

Mind Junker Image

25 Clever Illustrations Visual Street Art | Mind Junker.

40 Extremely Creepy Photographs

Very creepy art! Very cool, some might give you nightmares! Beware! For all you horror fans out there, this is a must see! Click the link below the photo, to see all these amazing photos! Enjoy!

Mind Junker Image

40 Extremely Creepy Photo Manipulations | Mind Junker.