Another Day

My Beautiful Young Lady

Let’s see, it’s all snowy and white outside(fresh layer last night), and the Sun was out for a while! Now I am processing my Vitamin D, that’s always a good thing, especially as you grow older. Talked with the parents, great conversation. Keeping myself busy on the internet….the dishes are haunting me. The cats are behaving, and not knocking my things over. It’s quiet. What a great day.

Yesterday, I was so impressed with my 15 year old daughter, Shannon. After , school, after my conversation about her day, she disappeared. Next thing I know, she’s in the bathroom, and came out with garbage in her hands. She’s really bad at leaving used Q-tips, with smudged eyeliner, all over the bathroom counter. These Q-tips end up on the floor and in the hallway, because the cats just adore playing with them. We also have to leave the toilet seat down too. Not because the cats want to drink from it, but they do like to drop things in the bowl, and then play trying to fish their new toy out, and splattering water all over the place.

So, I run into Shannon, with the garbage in her hands, and ask her what she’s up to. I almost fell over when she replied, ‘ I feel like cleaning. I already cleaned my room.’ I was puzzled. I usually have to ask many times, and in most cases till the next day, for her to do a chore for me. Then I remembered, she asked if a friend could spend the week-end. So, I said to her, ‘I know why you’re cleaning, you want your friend to be able to come over this weekend.’ I was wrong! She said ‘ That’s not until the following weekend’. Behold, I was in shock. She went about her way, and continued cleaning, stating again she just felt like cleaning.

I know this may sound rather insignificant to others, but I was so happy and proud. Then just a little bit sad that my baby, wasn’t such a baby anymore. I told her how proud I was of her, and she questioned, why? I explained she was showing how responsible she was, and how that really made me happy! She was contributing her resposibilities to our home.

I kept thanking her, and letting her know how much that helped me out. She acted like it was no big deal, but I know it made her feel really good to be praised on her good deeds. She was in the living room with her Dad. She was on the computer, and I sat down nest to my husband and expressed to him, what she had done. I just sat there, staring at her, proud but sad. What was wrong? My precious little baby was a young adult. All is not lost though! We have a grandbaby to arrive in April! Another set of tiny hands and feet we get to be a part of! And Shannon will be a wonderful Aunt and role model to her! That’s HAPPINESS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

